2023 Science and Innovation Awards winner congratulated

Friday 17 Mar 2023

FWPA is proud to congratulate Ashley Jones, winner of the forest and wood products industry category in the 2023 Science and Innovation Awards Our FWPA representative, judge of the contest and Statistics & Economics Manager, Kevin Peachey, was proud to present Ashley (Ash) Jones, from Australian National University, with the award for his work in identifying the dynamic plant RNA modifications needed to combat myrtle rust.

The 2023 Science and Innovation Awards for Young People in Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry is a competitive grants program that supports young people to undertake a project on an innovative or emerging scientific issue, including biophysical and social sciences, which will contribute to the ongoing success and sustainability of Australia's agriculture, fisheries and forestry industries.

The Science Awards aim to encourage science, innovation and technology in rural industries and help to advance the careers of young researchers, scientists, producers and innovators through national recognition of their research ideas.

The Awards are coordinated by the Australian Bureau of Agricultural and Resource Economics and Sciences (ABARES), part of the Australian Government Department of Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry and were attended and presented by Hon Murray Watt, Minister for Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry at the awards dinner on Wednesday 8 March held in conjunction with the 2023 Outlook Conference.

Winners have been provided funding to undertake a project on an emerging scientific issue or innovative activity which will contribute to the success of Australia’s agriculture sector. FWPA is a proud sponsor of this award, which showcases up and coming young scientists in the forest and wood products sector, encouraging innovation and providing well-deserved recognition to these young change-makers of Australia.

Well done to Ash and congratulations to all of the winners on the night.

Source: FWPA

Share |

Copyright 2004-2024 © Innovatek Ltd. All rights reserved.