New Trans-Tasman standard: Sustainable Forest Management

Friday 17 Dec 2021

In December 2021 Responsible Wood published the latest version of the AS / NZS 4708 Standard for Sustainable Forest Management - requirements. Click here to download the standard.

Updated and reviewed by Responsible Wood every five years, the Standard has been approved for publication following revision by the AS / NZS 4708 Standards Reference Committee and Working Group chaired by Dr Gordon Duff. Published for the first time as a Trans-Tasman Standard, the new Standard provides common benchmarks for sustainably managed Australian and New Zealand forests.

The Australia-New Zealand Standard (AS / NZS 4708), along with the Australian Standard for Chain of Custody for Forest Products (AS / NZS 4707) are key components of the Responsible Wood Certification Scheme. “The Responsible Wood Certification Scheme is recognised as a world leading certification scheme for native and plantation forests,” said the Chairman of the Standard Reference Committee, Dr Gordon Duff.

“The Committee included a broad range of organisations in Australia and New Zealand involved in forest management, forest research, auditing, government, community, and environment, as well as Indigenous organisations and labour unions.” The new standard has been designed to meet all requirements of the PEFC International Standard for Sustainable Forest Management (PEFC ST 1003), the benchmark for PEFC endorsement and recognition.

The Standard Reference Committee and Working Group includes a balance of representatives in Australia and New Zealand.

In Australia: Association of Accredited Certification Bodies. Australian Forest Growers, Australian Forest Products Association, Construction, Maritime, Mining and Energy Union, CSIRO, Environmental Farmers Network Association, Institute of Foresters of Australia (Forestry Australia), Independent biodiversity/conservation expert, National Retailers Association, National Timber Council Association, South East Timber Association (community group), Southcoast Natural Resource Management, University of Melbourne, University of Sunshine Coast.

In New Zealand: Federation of Māori Authorities First Union, New Zealand Farm Forest Association, New Zealand Forest Certification Association, New Zealand Forest Owners Association, New Zealand Institute of Forestry New Zealand, Ministry of Primary Industries, New Zealand Timber Industry Federation, Scion (New Zealand Forest Research Institute Limited), Wood Processors and Manufacturers Association of New Zealand.

For more information about the Australian and New Zealand Standard for Sustainable Forest Management please contact: Simon Dorries (CEO – Responsible Wood) on +61 7 3359 1758 or email Responsible Wood

Share |

Copyright 2004-2022 © Innovatek Ltd. All rights reserved.