Forestry finalists in NZ Safety Awards

Friday 26 Apr 2019

Forest industry safety leaders are among finalists in the New Zealand Workplace Health and Safety Awards for 2019. The winners in each of the categories, and an overall winner, will be announced at a gala dinner at SKYCITY Convention Centre in Auckland on 28 May.

A lifetime achievement award will be presented to Dr Hillary Bennett for her pioneering work in health & safety leadership and in the forestry sector.

Safeguard editor Peter Bateman says the more than 150 entries received this year illustrated the wide variety of approaches being taken to prevent injury and illness and to promote wellbeing. The entries also celebrated individuals who are going above and beyond to make these initiatives happen.

“Health and safety is all about people, so it is always a pleasure each year to read the award entries and learn about some of the people who work behind the scenes to protect their fellow workers. They do tremendous work and these awards are all about acknowledging and celebrating that.”

The category finalists, in alphabetic order within category, are:

NZ Safety Blackwoods best initiative to encourage worker involvement in health & safety

• Air New Zealand

• Hancock Forest Management NZ

• Spencer Henshaw

ACC best leadership of an industry sector or region

• Farmstrong

• Forest Industry Safety Council/Leading Safety/Tuakiri/Forestsafe

• Government Health & Safety Lead

Business Leaders’ Health & Safety Forum leader of the year • James Fletcher, Treescape

• Jono Brent, Connetics

• Michelle Henderson, PowerNet

The awards are organised by Thomson Reuters, publisher of Safeguard magazine, and proudly supported by WorkSafe New Zealand. Since their inception in 2005 the awards have become established as an annual highlight for everyone involved in the prevention of work injury and ill-health.

Share |

Copyright 2004-2020 © Innovatek Ltd. All rights reserved.